Office 365 (Outlook 2013 / 2016 for Win) - Sharing in Outlook (General Overview)
This article describes the types of sharing and permission levels in Outlook.
Sharing in Outlook
Outlook allows two types of sharing:
- Permissions: This type of sharing allows selected others to access your mail, calendar, and/or contacts but does not allow others to send email or create meeting invitations as you. When setting up permissions, you can determine exactly how much access a given person has.
- Assigning a delegate: Delegation allows another specified individual to act on your behalf. Use of this functionality should be done with caution as your delegates can take actions with your e-mail, calendar, and contacts as if you were doing so. For example, if user A assigned user B as a delegate and gave them “Send As” permissions, any message that User B sends from this mailbox will appear as if it was sent from user A. A slightly more restrictive option is to give the delegate “Send on Behalf” permissions. In this scenario, the From address in any message sent by the delegate indicates that the message was sent by the delegate on behalf of the mailbox owner.
What are the various permission levels (non-delegate)?
- Owner: Allows full rights to the mailbox, including assigning permissions; you should not assign this role to anyone
- Publishing Editor: Create, read, edit, and delete all items; create subfolders
- Editor: Create, read, edit, and delete all items
- Publishing Author: Create and read items; create subfolders; edit and delete items they've created
- Author: Create and read items; edit and delete items they've created
- Non-editing Author: Create and read items; delete items they've created
- Reviewer: Read items
- Contributor: Create items
- None: Gives no permissions for the selected accounts on the specified folder
Read refers to what a person can see in your calendar.
- None - User cannot see any of your appointments, including whether you are free or busy. This can only be set for all users (the name, "Default"), not for individuals; cannot be opened in schedule assistant.
- Free/Busy time - User can see if you have an appointment at a certain time, but cannot see the location nor the name of the appointment.
- Free/Busy time, subject, location - User can see if you have an appointment, its subject/title, and its location.
- Full Details - User can view all information about an appointment.
This set of permissions refers to whether or not one can create events in your calendar, and modify these entries. You can select more than one option at a time.
- Create items - Individual can create appointments and meeting requests on your calendar.
- Create subfolders - Not Applicable
- Edit Own - User can modify/change any items they created in your calendar, such as appointment time, subject, etc.
- Edit All - Same as above, but can edit all entries created by yourself and other users.
- None - User cannot remove entries in your calendar, regardless of whether or not they created it.
- Own - User can delete any entry they have created.
- All - User has access to delete all entries, even ones you have created.
- Folder Owner - This option will automatically be selected if you are a "Contributor" or above. It allows one to open an entire calendar in Outlook to see details of meetings.