Parkland College - Automatic Screen Locking (Windows)
Additional security measures were put in place on Windows machines at Parkland to minimize the risk of unauthorized access to computers and all of the associated data.
When a user's workstation is inactive for a half hour, the screen will automatically be locked and they will be prompted for the password used to log into the machine. (If you do not wish to wait for 30 minutes of inactivity, you can manually lock the screen by pressing the Windows icon key in the lower left of the keyboard while simultaneously pressing "L".) Note: For workstations that are shared by multiple people, it is critical that users log out when leaving to avoid the next user being faced with no choice other than to reboot the machine or select "Switch User" on the login screen.