Apporto - Access and Instructions
Apporto is a virtual desktop environment that provides access to software on a virtual PC interface without having to download the software to the local computer. As such, it is available anytime, anywhere and can even be used with Chromebooks, borrowed Parkland devices, and personal computers.
Apporto can be accessed via https://parkland.apporto.com/.
1. Click Log in and sign in with your ParklandOne username and password.
2. "Parkland GPU Desktop" and "Parkland non-GPU Desktop" will appear on the home screen and both can be launched simultaneously if desired. You may see more desktops, depending on the classes you are enrolled in. In addition, in the upper right of the home screen, there is a HELP menu where you can access a User Guide as well as submit an Apporto support request.
• Parkland GPU Desktop contains larger apps such as Adobe Creative Cloud, Autodesk, Mastercam, and Solidworks (in addition to some of the smaller applications such as Microsoft Office applications and web browsers).
• Parkland Non-GPU Desktop contains many of the smaller applications accessed by students at the college.
(Note: clicking the name of the desktop will show the software available within)
3. Click launch on the desired desktop/s.
Automated Standby Mode – On 1/1/22, Apporto introduced an automated standby mode between the hours of 10:00 PM and 6:00 AM local time. During this window, if no users are using the service, the Apporto servers will be in standby mode. if a user decides to start using the service at say 11:00 PM, the servers will automatically start - and the user will have to wait for 30 seconds while the server starts. Of course, if a user starts using the service at 9:40pm, the server will wait until the user finishes his session to shift to standby mode. If the system is waking up from standby mode, the user will see a "Please wait 1-2 minutes" message similar to the following:
4. Once launched, in addition to seeing the various applications that are available, there are a number of options in the toolbar at the top. These include Expand, File Upload, File Download, Save/Restore Snapshots, Screen Share, Messenger, Analytics, Sound On/Off, Network Indicator, Session Time/Length, and Settings.
Expand: Expand button will make the Apporto workspace full-screen. If you need to exit full-screen mode, you can press Escape on the keyboard, or move your mouse to the top of the screen and click the small drop down, and then the X.
Upload: This allows you to choose files from your own workstation to upload to the Apporto workspace. The files, by default, will upload to the Apporto desktop.
Download: This allows you to download files from your Apporto workspace to your local workstation.
Snapshot: Snapshot allows you to take up to two snapshots of your profile, which enables you to “roll back” your work to a previous state if you make a mistake or accidentally delete a file.
Screenshare: This enables you to create a share link to provide to others with varying levels of access. You can use this to allow other people to view what you are doing, or even take control of the desktop. This is very useful for tech support troubleshooting.
Messenger: If you are part of a classroom group, you will have access to the messenger applet. This allows users to message their instructor directly and gives instructors access to view student’s screens.
Network Quality: Clicking the colored bar graph will give you information regarding your connection with Apporto’s servers. The lower the network latency the better.
Settings: The settings cog wheel will allow you to Enable/Disable your microphone, webcam, and clipboard. It also will allow you to modify the current resolution of the Apporto desktop.
5. At the bottom of the Apporto window, you will see a Windows Start Menu as well as a File Explorer option. Within File Explorer, you will have access to multiple folders and drives. When you click This PC, you will see a U:/ drive. This is your permanent share drive. We recommend that if you are saving files to the Apporto workspace, that you save them in this drive. Files saved to the desktop or other folders may not be there the next time you log in. The U:/ is persistent and backs up your information. Items can be saved here and accessed by the user within Apporto at any time.
6. Connecting your OneDrive to Apporto: On the desktop, there is an application called "Cloud Mounter". Once opened, it allows users to save from Apporto directly to a cloud storage location such as OneDrive.
Using Cloud Mounter:
1) Open the software. You will be presented with a prompt that looks like this:
2) Select OneDrive. It will prompt you with a Connection Dialog box. Leave the drive name and check box selected, and then click Connect Now.
3) Cloud Mounter will then display the sign-in screen. Enter your ParklandOne credentials to sign in. You will then need to authenticate through Okta. Once signed in, you may see a prompt asking you to accept the permissions. Click Accept.
4) Once connected, your OneDrive folder should automatically open. The Cloud Mounter software should show an existing connection and your OneDrive becomes mounted in the File Explorer as the O:/ drive:
7) Printing from Apporto. Apporto has launched the ability to print to a local printer you have at your home, or that you have been assigned at Parkland college. When you try to print within the Apporto workspace, you will be presented with a Print window that will be similar to this, with "Apporto Printer (redirected)" set as the default:
Leave the redirected printer selected, and choose Print. This will convert the document to a PDF, and then present a second print option which will allow you to choose a local or assigned printer:
• Ensure you have saved any files to the appropriate U:/ drive folder, or your connected OneDrive account.
• Close out of the application you are using.
• Within the Apporto desktop, click Start, Power, and choose Disconnect (you may also just exit out of the browser window/tab).
• Sign out of the Apporto homepage by navigating to your name in the upper right and selecting Logout.