Cobra Learning - Doing a Course Reset

CobraBanner

Everyone has done it - copied the wrong course content in your current semester course. Let's go through what your options are for cleaning the old content out and restarting fresh.

Course Reset

One option that you have is to email CobraLearning@parkland.edu and request a course reset.  What this will do is completely wipe your course out and reset it to an empty shell.  This is likely the easiest way to do this and the quickest.  HOWEVER, it is worth noting that this is NOT recoverable.  Once it has been deleted, it cannot be restored.  So, if you have any content that you have uploaded (i.e. updated syllabus, schedule, etc.), you'll want to download that first before requesting the reset.  Otherwise...

Manual Reset

If you have already done some work that you don't want to lose and decide NOT to do the course reset option, then you can go through manually and methodically and clean your course.

NOTE:this is what you could also do for duplicated course content.

Announcements

First, on your homepage, click the dropdown next to the Announcements title and select Go to Announcements.

go to announcements tool

Then, (1) click on the box to select all announcements, (2) click Delete; and (3) click Yes to confirm.

delete announcements

Finally, confirm the "no announcements to display" message.

no announcements to display message


Content

Next, go to (1) Content. Click on the (2) Table of Contents module, click the (3) dropdown arrow next to the Table of Contents title, and (4) select the Delete All Modules option.

Deleting table of content and all modules


In the next window, select to "permanently delete all modules, topics, and all associated files and activities from the course."  This will ensure that all remnants of course content is deleted.  Click Delete.


permanently delete all modules and associated files


Once you select to delete, you'll be given a status of the content deletion process.  This may take a bit of time, depending on the size of your course content.


deleting all modules status bar


Once the deletion of content is complete, you should get an "all clear" in the form of a "welcome to your course" message.  

NOTE: this only removes the content and associated files.  This process does NOT remove discussions, dropboxes, quizzes, or grades.  Please see those sections below for guidance on deleting those items.

welcome to your course message indicating content deleted

Discussions

Next, go to Discussions.  (If you don't use discussions, then you can skip to the next section).  If you have forums, in which your topics/board reside, you can click the dropdown arrow next to the forum name and select the delete option.

deleting discussion forums

You will get a confirmation screen to approve the deletion of the forum.  

NOTE: deleting the forum will delete all of the topics in the forum.  However, you have to delete each forum individually...there is no bulk delete option for forums.

confirm deletion of discussion forum

Once you have deleted your forums and topics, you'll get a notice that you don't have any discussion topics available, confirming that your discussions have been deleted successfully.

confirmation of no discussion topics

Dropbox

Next, go to (1) Dropbox.  (If you don't use dropboxes, then you can skip to the next section).  Select the box at the top of the dropbox listings (2) then click More Actions (3) and select Delete (4).


selecting all dropboxes for deletion


You'll get a confirmation screen to delete all dropboxes and files.  Click Delete.

confirmation of deletion of dropboxes and files

After your dropboxes have been deleted, you'll get a notification that you have no dropbox folders.

confirmation of no dropboxes remaining

Quizzes

Next, go to (1) Quizzes.  (If you don't use quizzes, then you can skip to the next section).  On the (2) Manage Quizzes tab, select all of the quizzes (3), click More Actions (4), and select Delete (5).

selecting quizzes to delete

You'll get a confirmation screen for deleting the quizzes.  Click Delete to continue.

confirmation of deletion of quizzes

Once the quizzes have been deleted, you'll get a confirmation notice that you have no quizzes.

no quizzes confirmation

Deleting quizzes will not delete the questions in the Question Library, so click on the Question Library tab (if you use the question library).

accessing question library


Check the boxes next to the folders and/or questions to be deleted and click the Delete link.

deleting question library folders and questions



You'll get the confirmation screen for deleting the items, so click Delete.

confirm deletion of question library

Once you have deleted the question library questions, you'll get a notification that there are no folders or questions.

no question library folders or questions remain

Grades

Next, go to (1) Grades.  Select the More Actions button (2), and then click Delete (3).  

NOTE: you must click the delete option BEFORE selecting the items to delete.

Also, note in the Association column whether any associations to items in the course still exist.  If they do, then they will need to be disassociated before they can be deleted.  

accessing the delete function of grades

After you click the delete option, you will be able to select the items to be deleted.  You can select all of them at once.  Note that the item that had an association cannot be selected, therefore it cannot be deleted.  Be sure to go back to where that item is to remove the grade association.  Then, you can delete it.

select items to delete

Once you have selected Delete, you will get a confirmation screen for the deletion of the grade items.

confirm the deletion of grade items

After you have disassociated the items and selected all to be deleted, your gradebook will no longer contain any grade items.  (Final Calculated/Adjusted Grade are system grade items and cannot be deleted).

no grade items remain


Course Admin

Lastly, go to Course Admin > Manage Files.  You CAN skip this step, but to ensure that your course is entirely empty, it is best to do this step as well.

Course Admin > Manage Filess


Ensure that you are at the topmost level of the content files, click the box to select all content folders and files, then click the trash can icon.

select all files and click trash can icon



You'll get a confirmation screen for deleting all of these items.  Click Yes.

Confirm that you want to delete the selected items.


Once the screen refreshes, you should see the "this folder is empty" message confirming that all files have been deleted.

folder is empty confirmation.


Other Course Tools

You might also have Intelligent Agents, Rubrics, and Checklists.  These are covered below.

Intelligent Agents

Click on Course Admin and Intelligent Agents.

Course Admin > Intelligent Agents


This will give you the list of your intelligent agents in the course.  Check the box to select all of the agents, then click Delete.

Select agents to delete and click delete.


You'll get a confirmation screen for the deletion of the agents.  Click Delete.Confirm the deletion of the agents.

Once they have been deleted, you should see a "no intelligent agents found" message to confirm they have been deleted.

no intelligent agents found


Rubrics

Click on Course Admin and Rubrics.


Course Admin > Rubrics


This will give you the list of your rubrics in the course.  Check the box to select all of the rubrics, then click the trash can icon.

select all rubrics and click trash can icon

You'll get a confirmation screen for the deletion of the rubrics.  Click Delete.

confirm deletion of rubrics

Once they have been deleted, you should see a "you haven't created any rubrics" message to confirm they have been deleted.

you haven't created any rubrics message

Checklists

Click on Course Admin and Checklists.

Course Admin > Checklists


This will give you the list of your checklists in the course.  Click on the More Actions button, then click Delete.

More Actions button and then delete.

Click the box to select all of the checklists and then click Delete Selected.

delete selected checklists


Once they have been deleted, you should see a "you haven't created any checklists" message to confirm they have been deleted.

you haven't created any checklists message


Your course should now be totally empty and ready for you to copy new content into without duplication.


Tech Service Desk: Contact and Hours

In-Person Assistance: 10 a.m. - 2 p.m., M-F, room A184

Phone/Virtual Assistance: 217-353-3333 * techhelp@parkland.edu

Fall/Spring: 7:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. M-Th. / 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Fridays

Summer: 7:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. M-Th